The Handmaid’s Tale (book, movie, tv show)

I finished reading The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.  There was a movie based on the book in 1990. And now there is a tv show based on the book on Hulu. The movie has Natasha Richardson, Faye Dunaway, Aidan Quinn, Elizabeth McGovern, and Robert Duvall.

Warning: there are some gross parts and some sex.

Before I begin, I have something to say. At first, I thought this is just fiction until I got to the part about what happened before the handmaids came into being. That is when I realized that this really could be the future. I mean Trump wants a wall, and terrorism is happening. It’s scary if this could happen. They twist the Bible to fit so they can control women and then secretly backtrack what they say with a nightclub of sorts.

Anyway, here’s what it is about a woman tells a story of being a handmaid. Handmaids are baby makers for the officials of what was America. It is called Gilead. If they weren’t in shape to be a handmaid, they are cleaners of toxic waste or farmers. Offred wants to escape in some way, but can’t. She later is “kidnapped” by an underground group called Mayday.

The movie and book are similar. But she and her daughter are given a name in the movie. The tv show (I only have seen the first episode so far) is little different. The Commander’s name is the same as the historical notes at the end of the book. Her daughter is given a name too.The ending of the movie is different. She kills the Commander. (I like this ending better than the book ending.)

I sorta liked the book. I didn’t like the ending because it leaves you hanging. Next, I’m listening to the Inferno by Dante Alighieri.

You can get the book The Handmaid’s Tale at Wordery.com, Kobo.com, and Downpour.com.
icon
icon

One thought on “The Handmaid’s Tale (book, movie, tv show)

  1. Read this 8 or 9 years ago in university. I was thoroughly disturbed. Market Atwood has a way of doing that in some of her books, this one particularly. Besides 1984, it’s likely one of he original dystopian books. I read it and I hated it b/c of the truth that could be, b/c I was disturbed by what this woman lost. How she was treated by the commanders wife etc and how she fit into the whole ‘ordeal of sex’ and procreation. I always thought, if these women could have kids, shouldn’t they be the sought after wives?

    Have seen a few episodes of the series. I’ll watch it when it comes to Netflix I think. But I’m not sure, the story greatly disturbed me in a similar way to the book “Night” be Elie Wiesel but his story was much too true and is one we cannot afford to forget.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

