The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

Just about every time Chris comes down, he wants to go to the local bookstore. I love and hate going to the bookstore. I do love books, but I’m always tempted to buy some books. I can’t always spend money.
When Chris came down for my birthday, of course we went to the bookstore. I decided to write down some authors that looked interesting and look them up later.

I wrote down this book, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. It is part of a book series by: N.K. Jemisin. The book series is called The Inheritance series. I did look up the book and found out that I could only get to read the first book of the series. The other books in the series are The Broken Kingdoms, and The Kingdom of Gods. She also wrote a novella called The Awaken Kingdom. Someday I might get to read the rest of the series.

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is about a girl who is requested by grandfather to see him. Her grandfather is the king of the central city called Sky. Her grandfather says she is in the running to be on throne when he dies. Her cousins are also in the running. Later she founds out that actually she is supposed to pick one of her cousins to rule the kingdoms. Her cousins though aren’t really fit to rule the kingdoms because they ¬†are too power hungry. She also finds out she has to pick one and that one will have to kill the other.
Also she meets the gods that the people worshiped and was killed for worshiping. Those gods helped her find out who killed her mother and they also helped her discover who really is. The people had those gods locked up.

I sorta liked this book. I didn’t like that the guy who had crush on her was killed. I would like to read the other books to see what the gods would do now they are free.

One thought on “The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

Leave a Reply

